Showing posts from September, 2015

Suzann Pettersen's Apology for Solheim Cup Incident

It's always sad when a rules controversy overshadows a golf tournament, especially one as big and as interesting and fun as the Solheim Cup usually is. That's what happened at the 2015 Solheim Cup when Suzann Pettersen alerted the match referee to the fact that Alison Lee picked up her ball without either of her European opponents conceding Lee's putt. Lee said she heard someone say, "it's good," and that the circumstances - how short the putt was, the fact that both Pettersen and Charley Hull were walking away - convinced her the putt had been conceded. It had not. And Pettersen called it to the ref's attention, who, after speaking to everyone on the green, ruled that Lee had improperly picked up her ball. Penalty stroke. Loss of hole. Edge to Europe, which took a 1-up lead and won the match on the next hole. That's a tough scenario all around. And Pettersen was absolutely firebombed afterward by just about everyone, including many European obse