Thursday, October 1, 2015

If You Love Making Putts, Don't Watch This Video

Oh, man, this is just brutal. The worst putt of all-time? Maybe. It's made worse by the fact that it's Ernie Els flinching that putt past the cup. I mean it - watch his right hand just before impact. You can easily see it twitch.

Oh no, you watched it! Now try not to think about it next time you're over a very short putt that there is just no way you are going to miss ...

This putt by Els, by the way, was during the first round of the 2015 Dunhill Links Championship. Poor Els. This is why he stopped winning, of course - his putting went south. That putt is all the way to the South Pole.

Monday, September 21, 2015

Suzann Pettersen's Apology for Solheim Cup Incident

It's always sad when a rules controversy overshadows a golf tournament, especially one as big and as interesting and fun as the Solheim Cup usually is.

That's what happened at the 2015 Solheim Cup when Suzann Pettersen alerted the match referee to the fact that Alison Lee picked up her ball without either of her European opponents conceding Lee's putt. Lee said she heard someone say, "it's good," and that the circumstances - how short the putt was, the fact that both Pettersen and Charley Hull were walking away - convinced her the putt had been conceded.

It had not. And Pettersen called it to the ref's attention, who, after speaking to everyone on the green, ruled that Lee had improperly picked up her ball. Penalty stroke. Loss of hole. Edge to Europe, which took a 1-up lead and won the match on the next hole.

That's a tough scenario all around. And Pettersen was absolutely firebombed afterward by just about everyone, including many European observers, for poor sportsmanship.

Today, the day after, Pettersen posted this apology, which seems quite heartfelt, on Instagram:

I've never felt more gutted and truly sad about what went down Sunday on the 17th at the Solheim Cup.

I am so sorry for not thinking about the bigger picture in the heat of the battle and competition. I was trying my hardest for my team and put the single match and the point that could be earned ahead of sportsmanship and the game of golf itself! I feel like I let my team down and I am sorry.

To the U.S. team, you guys have a great leader in Juli , who I've always looked up to and respect so much. Knowing I need to make things "right," I had a face to face chat with her before leaving Germany this morning to tell her in person how I really feel about all of this. I wanted her also to know that I am sorry.

I hope in time the U.S. team will forgive me and know that I have learned a valuable lesson about what is truly important in this great game of golf which has given me so much in my life.

To the fans of golf who watched the competition on TV, I am sorry for the way I carried myself. I can be so much better and being an ambassador for this great game means a lot to me.

The Solheim Cup has been a huge part of my career. I wish I could change Sunday for many reasons. Unfortunately I can't. This week I want to push forward toward another opportunity to earn the Solheim Cup back for Europe in the right way. And I want to work hard to earn back your belief in me as someone who plays hard, plays fair and plays the great game of golf the right way.

Personally, I think Pettersen is getting way too much heat for this incident. We have to remember that it was Lee who broke the rule and Pettersen who was merely following the rules. The incident was entirely due to Lee's mistake in not being certain her putt was conceded.

You'll often see golfers in match play whose opponents concede their putt stop and ask again - "This putt is good?" or "You conceded?" - double-checking to make absolutely sure they can pick up their ball. Watch the Solheim Cup, the Ryder Cup, any match play tournament, and you'll see this often.

Lee failed to make sure, at a crucial moment in the match, that she could do what she was about to do, lift the ball. She just casually walked up to the ball and flipped it up with her putter. (European team captain Carin Koch claimed that Lee's teammate Brittany Lincicome was telling Lee, "Don't pick it up, don't pick it up." That claim, as far as I know, has not been challenged by anyone.)

I'm not trying to let Pettersen off the hook. She could have displayed great sportsmanship and let the breach pass. One can certainly argue that she should have done that. (And I would agree with that.) I do think it's completely fair to question Pettersen's actions.

But let's not rip apart someone's character over this. It was a split-second decision in a very high-pressure situation brought about by another golfer's breach of the rules.

It happened, it's over, let's move on.

Friday, August 28, 2015

14-Stroke Penalty for Golfer in LET Access Tournament

How do you get a 14-stroke penalty in a pro golf tournament? By misunderstanding the "lift, clean, replace" condition of competition.

The golfer is Anna Scott of England, the tournament is the HLR Golf Academy Open on the Finnish Tour, cosanctioned by the LET Access Series (the feeder tour into the Ladies European Tour).

So what happened? Under wet conditions, tournament organizers imposed "lift, clean, replace" rules - but Scott misunderstood and thought "lift, clean, place" was in effect. Not REplace, but place. Not, put your ball back down on the same spot, but put your ball back down close to the original spot.

When Scott realized her misunderstanding, she called over a rules official and explained that she probably violated the "place" part on seven holes. A 2-shot penalty for each meant 14 penalty strokes total.

She wound up shooting 52 over the nine holes on which the seven penalties were assessed, and 91 total. Here's what her scorecard looked like for that nine:

Scott provided more details in a Facebook post; here's what she wrote:

"For anyone interested into my lovely score today; it was raining a lot all morning & so there was a ruling of 'lift clean replace', I somehow missed the replace and played 7 holes of 'lift clean place' in scorecard. So standing in the pouring rain on my 7th hole as my playing partner said its lift clean RE-PLACE I realised I couldn't tell if I have moved my ball a couple cm back from the tee in the 7 chances I'd already had to do so. I knew I'd done it on a par 3 from the fringe and on 1 fairway because of the wet lie. Referee came over and said don't worry it's just 2shot penalty for each time you played from an incorrect place. HAHA! I wish the ruling was a DQ because the next 11 holes in continuous rain were pretty tough

"So I actually played decent golf today in that horrible weather this morning. The Finnish tournament director told me I didn't need to keep playing, but I had so many WD with my injury problems I didn't want another one... so I sucked it up & kept going. He also told me it happend on the challenge tour here not so long ago, that a few guys got so many penalty strokes they just stopped playing.

"I need to READ better! That's for sure.

"However, what is the point in lift clean replace?!"

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Why We Love the New Tour Edge Bazooka 460 Black Driver

We love the new driver from Tour Edge Golf, the Bazooka 460 Black. But we haven't even hit it!

So why do we love it? Two reasons:

  1. It has a fixed head (it's non-adjustable);
  2. It's value-priced, coming in at a price point well below most other brand name drivers.

Both of those things are becoming increasingly rare in the driver market, and that's too bad. Because the vast majority of golfers don't need anything but a cheap, fixed head driver.

Adjustability? Hey, if you're a low-handicapper or a golfer who loves to head to the range and tinker with settings, knock yourself out. But most recreational golfers are neither. In fact, most people who play golf are probably hurt by adjustable driver heads: they add confusion, they add options most golfers don't know what do to with.

Does a guy or gal who plays golf 10 times a year really understand what changing the loft, face angle, lie angle does to their shots? Do they even need to? No and no.

What those folks need is an old-fashioned, fixed-head driver. And preferably one that's cheap!

The Bazooka 460 Black driver is only $120 (check Amazon - we've seen it under $100 there). That might not count as cheap in your world, but relative to other name brand drivers, it certainly is. (Heck, if you only play a few times a year - when your in-laws visit, when your company sponsors a tournament, here and there with a few friends - you can even just grab something out of the bargain bin at Walmart and probably spend $50 or less, and be no worse off for it.)

So if you want to spend $400 for a driver that can be adjusted a dozen different ways, go for it. But if you're a weekend hacker, a recreational golfer, a high-handicapper who never practices, save yourself some time, some money, maybe some aggravation, maybe even some strokes, with a cheap, fixed head driver.

They are becoming a rare species. So kudos to Tour Edge for the Bazooka 460 Black.

Friday, August 21, 2015

Video: Watch Miss Texas Ask Jordan Spieth on a Date with a ... Rap?

Shannon Lee Sanderford, the reigning Miss Texas, threw out the first pitch before a Texas Rangers game, and she didn't let the opportunity pass to make another pitch. She wants a date with Jordan Spieth.

How did she Miss Texas make her pitch to Jordan? In the form of a rap. And yes, it's every bit as bad as you'd expect! Deliciously bad. Watch:

Alas, Miss Texas, your hitting on Spieth via "rap" is all for naught. Jordan is quite happy with the girlfriend he already has. Annie Verret might not be Miss Texas, but she's probably going to be Mrs. Jordan Spieth.

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Is This the Best 3-Putt in Golf History?

Yes! At least until another enterprising young golfer does the same thing but in more dramatic fashion (longer putts, more break).

Here you go:

Thursday, August 6, 2015

Michelle Wie Goes Blonde, and We Love It

So, this happened the other day:

Michelle Wie tweeted those pics out with the hashtags "#SalonWiezy" and "#Postinjectionboredom." But this wasn't the finished product in her transformation from raven-haired to blonde.

Here's the finished product:

What did it take for Wie to get her hair this color? A lot:

But we say it was worth it. We're not usually fans of black-haired women going blonde. But Michelle looks spectacular.

Tuesday, August 4, 2015

No, You Can't Play Paige Spiranac's Back Nine

Wait, what? Play Paige Spiranac's back nine? Nope, you can't do it, no matter how bad you want to. How do we know? Because she said so:

But I wonder what that means? I mean, if Twitnit guys are asking her about playing her back nine ... why?

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh ... OK. I get it now.

Monday, August 3, 2015

Kangaroo Boxes Flags on Putting Green

Another wonderful video of animals invading golf courses. (Wait - it's actually the other way around! Golf courses invade animals' spaces, so, of course, animals show up on courses.)

The video was captured at Heritage Park Golf and Country Club in Wonga Park, Victoria, Australia.

This one needs no further introduction - a kangaroo boxes the flags on a putting green:

Friday, July 24, 2015

Let's Watch Lydia Ko Dance

No, these short video clips that Lydia Ko Instagrammed aren't from a club, they are from the gym. And Lydia busts a move or two while warming up or cooling down with her fitness coach:

Never a dull moment with @ta2claps �� #BetterEveryDay

A video posted by Lydia Ko (@lydsko) on

Another crazy session with @ta2claps ��! #BetterEveryDay

A video posted by Lydia Ko (@lydsko) on

Hahahah we are so serious @ta2claps ����

A video posted by Lydia Ko (@lydsko) on

Lydia Ko is adorable!